## **ORDINANCE NO. 187**

## AN ORDINANCE AMENDING CHAPTER 32 OF THE CODE OF DUNES CITY TO REVISE THE NUMBER OF PLANNING COMMISSIONERS, VOTING STRUCTURE AND THE STAGGERING OF TERMS; AND DECLARING AN EMERGENCY

WHEREAS, the City Council is interested in modifying membership and general procedures regarding the operation of the Dunes City Planning Commission.

## NOW THEREFORE, Dunes City ordains as follows:

Section 1. Section 32.61(A) of the Code of Dunes City, is modified to read:

The Commission shall consist of six voting members, each of whom shall be a resident of the city and appointed by the Council.

Section 2. Section 32.63 of the Code of Dunes City, is modified to read:

A term of office on the Commission shall be three years and no member shall serve for more than two consecutive terms. The terms of Commission members shall be staggered so that two positions shall become open every third year. The term of office shall commence on January 1 and expire on December 31.

Section 3. Section 32.62(B) of the Code of Dunes City, is modified to read:

The Commission shall select from its voting membership a Chairperson and Vice–Chairperson to serve for one–year terms. No member shall be eligible for more than two consecutive terms as Chairperson or Vice–Chairperson. The Chairperson shall vote only when a tie occurs.

Section 4. It being necessary for the peace, health, safety, and orderly development of the City of Dunes City, an emergency is hereby declared to exist and this ordinance shall become effective immediately upon its passage by the council and signature by the mayor.

## ADOPTED BY THE DUNES CITY COUNCIL THIS 8TH DAY OF FEBRUARY, 2007.

 Ayes:
 \_\_\_\_\_
 Abstain:
 \_\_\_\_\_

Sheldon Meyer, Mayor

Joanne Hickey, City Recorder